IISc. Bangalore & IISERs

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research abbreviated as IISER is a group of institutes that focuses on science and research education. These institutions are running under the supervision of Ministry of Human Resource Development. These are playing a vital role in the development of our country in the basic science field. There are currently seven institutions affiliated to IISER and they are as follows.

  1. IISER Berhampur, Odisha
  2. IISER Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
  3. IISER Kolkata, West Bengal
  4. IISER Mohali, Punjab
  5. IISER Pune, Maharashtra
  6. IISER Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala
  7. IISER Tirupati

Indian Institute of Science (IISc) is one of the best institutions/universities we have in our country. This institute was started in the early 1900. IISc provide education in the filed of engineering, science, design, management. IISc is also a famous research center in India. The main departments in IISc are as below.

  1. Biological Sciences
    • Department of Biochemistry
    • Central Animal Facility
    • Centre for Ecological Sciences
    • Centre for Infectious Disease Research
    • Centre for Neuroscience
    • Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology
    • Molecular Biophysics Unit
    • Department of Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics
  2. Chemical Sciences
    • Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry
    • Materials Research Centre
    • Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Research Centre
    • Department of Organic Chemistry
    • Solid State and Structural Chemistry Unit
  3. Electrical Sciences
    • Department of Computer Science and Automation
    • Department of Electrical Communication Engineering
    • Department of Electrical Engineering
    • Department of Electronic Systems Engineering
  4. Mechanical Sciences
    • Department of Aerospace Engineering
    • Centre for Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
    • Centre for Earth Sciences
    • Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing
    • Centre for Sustainable Technologies
    • Department of Chemical Engineering
    • Department of Civil Engineering
    • Divecha Centre for Climate Change
    • Department of Materials Engineering
    • Department of Mechanical Engineering
  5. Physical and Mathematical Sciences
    • Astronomy and Astrophysics Programme
    • Centre for Cryogenic Technology
    • Centre for High Energy Physics
    • Department of Instrumentation and Applied Physics
    • Department of Mathematics
    • Department of Physics
  6. Interdisciplinary Research
    • Centre for Infrastructure, Sustainable Transportation and Urban Planning
    • Centre for Biosystems Science and Engineering
    • Centre for Contemporary Studies
    • Centre for Nano Science and Engineering
    • Department of Computational and Data Sciences
    • Department of Management Studies
    • Interdisciplinary Centre for Energy Research
    • Interdisciplinary Centre for Water Research
    • Robert Bosch Centre for Cyber Physical Systems
    • Supercomputer Education and Research Centre


According to reports, IISc. Bangalore was ranked top in india, 27th in Asia and in the top 300 in the world. IISc has the maximum number of students who are doing research on many subjects. Apart from offering doctoral course, it also offers Master degree courses and Bachelor degree courses.

To get admission in IISc, students have to go through Graduate Aptitude Entrance Test (GATE) or National Eligibility Test (NET) exam. Besides entrance exam results, the admission also depends on the career records and technical interview. This process is common for all the courses except Master of Management, where one has to clear Common Admission Test (CAT) to get admission in to it.



IISER stands for Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research. It is an institute for education on science and research programs. The IISERs were created through Ministry of Human Resource and Development (MHRD) by Government of India. At present there are 7 IISERs located in different cities. They are as listed below.

Sl. No.NameLocation
1IISER BerhampurBerhampur, Odisha
2IISER BhopalBhopal, Madhya Pradesh
3IISER KolkataKalyani, West Bengal
4IISER MohaliMohali, Punjab
5IISER PunePune, Maharashtra
6IISER ThiruvananthapuramThiruvananthapuram, Kerala
7IISER TirupatiTirupati, Andhra Pradesh

There are 3 methods to get admission in IISER and they are,

1. Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY)
2. Through IIT JEE entrance exam
3. Through IISER Aptitude test. To get eligibility to take this test, one should have the top rankings in their state / central board exams.